Christian Revolutions: Cathedral Summer Lectures

Jul
19
Wednesday, July 19, 2017 - 16:30
Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 16:30
Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 16:30
Wednesday, August 16, 2017 - 16:30
Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 16:30
Contact person
Cathedral Visitors Team
Email: 
cathedral@chch.ox.ac.uk
Phone: 
01865 276154 or 01865 286165
Talk / Lecture

The Cathedral’s Summer Lecture series for 2017 will look at Christian Revolutions.

Join us this summer as we explore life-changing moments in the life of the Church from the conversion of the Roman Emperor, Constantine, to the Reformation and the Oxford Movement.

Lectures take place at 4.30 pm in the Frideswide Room (2  August in the Freind Room)

Admission is free, all are welcome and there is no need to book in advance.

Wednesday 19 July

The Conversion of Constantine and the End of Persecution

Dr Mark Edwards, Professor of Early Christian Studies and Tutor in Theology, Christ Church

Wednesday 26 July

St Augustine and the Fall of Rome

Dr Conrad Leyser, Fellow and Tutor in History, Worcester College                                   

Wednesday 2 August

1517: The Reformation and the Triumph of Protestantism

The Revd Dr Jonathan Arnold, Dean of Divinity, Magdalen College                                                                                

Wednesday 16 August

Darwin and the Authority of the Bible

The Revd Dr Christopher O’Neill, former Head of Religious Studies, Charterhouse                              

Wednesday 23 August

1917: The Russian Revolution and the Orthodox Church

Dr Catherine Andreyev, Emeritus Tutor in History, Christ Church