Professor Roger Davies Elected as President of the European Astronomical Society

At the European Astronomical Society Week of Astronomy and Space Science held in Prague, Czech Republic, in June, Professor Roger Davies, Philip Wetton Professor of Astrophysics, and Student (Fellow) of Christ Church, was elected as President of the EAS for a 4 year term. One of his first duties was to toast Czech Astronomy, as the Czech Astronomical Society is celebrating its centenary this year.

The EAS was founded in 1990 and the first President was by Lodewijk Woltjer, who had been Director General of the European Southern Observatory. It acts at a European level on behalf of the European astronomical community. Twenty-seven national societies are affiliated to the EAS and it collaborates with European intergovernmental research organizations like CERN, ESA and ESO.

Commenting on his appointment, Professor Davies said, “I am very honoured to have been elected President of the EAS. I will strive to represent European astronomy at the highest levels and to bring the excitement of astronomy research to a broader audience. I am particularly pleased that the EAS and RAS are co-hosting our annual meeting in Liverpool in 2018.

“At this time it is important to underscore that UK science, and astronomy in particular, is closely interwoven into European science. Our principle research facilities, the European Space Agency & European Southern Observatory are international and will remain accessible to UK astronomers whether or not we are members of the European Union.”

The EAS holds an annual European Week of Astronomy and Space Science (EWASS), which typically attracts 1000-1200 participants, and awards a range of prizes and medals recognizing excellence in astronomy. The next EWASS will be held jointly with the Royal Astronomical Society National Astronomy Meeting in Liverpool from 3-6 April 2018.